Skip navigation

The Case of the Bundeswehr – Who Serves Germany?

Something has changed. You used to see them much more often, the young men in uniform. They would travel on long-distance trains on the weekends, and almost everyone knew a soldier in their family. Today you mostly encounter the Bundeswehr on television news, in reports from Mali and Afghanistan, or about disaster relief efforts. The Bundeswehr used to be much more strongly integrated into society, and the concept of Innere Führung envisages closeness to everyday civilian life.

In the future, it is not only the equipment that will be renewed. The individual soldier is also coming under scrutiny. But do soldiers feel socialized? And what image does the German public actually have of German soldiers? In the United States, people are proud of their fighters and defenders. But what about here, in this country? Improving the reputation of soldiers is another goal of the Bundeswehr and the German Federal Ministry of Defense. The philosophy of the democratic German armed forces is regarded as a beacon and role model for many countries, and it is good to know that we have the concept of Innere Führung in the Bundes­wehr in Germany. Nevertheless, the Bundes­wehr has serious problems when it comes to recruiting young people. Unfortunately, not even Innere Führung can provide the answers here.

Enough personnel need to be recruited. Attempts are being made to tweak various parameters. Working hours were recently changed. Many employment criteria have been relaxed, advertising budgets increased, and, despite criticism, the targeted search in schools for suitable young applicants continues. The percentage of women has risen over the years, yet among the troops, acceptance of women has actually fallen. A lot of money is flowing into leadership coaching and advanced training, as the system needs top leaders and managers who can not only identify problems but also deal with them in a solution-oriented way. The pressure is rising. For years, the Bundeswehr has attempted to become more family-friendly, while at the same time there are more overseas deployments.


Who serves Germany, and what does the country need more of in the future? “Ethics and Armed Forces” gives answers to very critical questions, while always considering members of the German armed forces and their families. I hope you enjoy reading this “Ethics and Armed Forces” special.

Zum Inhalt springen

Der Fall Bundeswehr – wer dient Deutschland?

Es hat sich etwas verändert. Früher sah man sie viel häufiger, die jungen Männer in Uniform. Am Wochenende saßen sie in den Fernzügen, und beinah jeder kannte einen Soldaten in seiner Familie. Heute begegnet man der Bundeswehr vor allem in den Fernsehnachrichten, in Meldungen aus Mali, Afghanistan oder dem Katastrophenschutz. Einst war die Bundeswehr viel stärker in die Gesellschaft integriert, und auch im Konzept der Inneren Führung ist die Nähe zum zivilen Alltag vorgesehen.

Es ist künftig nicht nur die Ausrüstung, die erneuert wird. Auch der einzelne Soldat wird in den Fokus genommen. Doch fühlen Soldaten sich vergesellschaftet, und welches Bild haben Bundesbürger tatsächlich von deutschen Soldaten? In den USA ist man stolz auf seine Kämpfer und Verteidiger, und hierzulande? Das Ansehen von Soldaten - auch das wollen Bundeswehr und Bundesministerium der Verteidigung verbessern. Die Philosophie der demokratischen deutschen Armee gilt als Leuchtturm und Vorbild für viele Länder, und es ist gut zu wissen, dass wir in Deutschland in der Bundeswehr das Konzept der Inneren Führung haben. Trotzdem: die Bundeswehr hat akute Nachwuchsprobleme. Dagegen hilft als Patentrezept leider auch nicht die "Innere Führung".

Genügend Personal muss rekrutiert werden. Man versucht an verschiedenen Stellschrauben zu drehen. So wurden die Arbeitszeiten erst kürzlich angepasst. Eine Vielzahl von Einstellungskriterien wurde gesenkt, die Werbeetats erhöht und in Schulen wird trotz Kritik weiter gezielt nach jungen Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern gesucht. Der Anteil von Frauen hat sich über die Jahre erhöht, doch innerhalb der Truppe ging die Akzeptanz gegenüber Frauen sogar zurück. In Führungskräftecoachings und Weiterbildung fließt viel Geld, denn das System braucht Spitzenführungskräfte, die die Probleme nicht nur erkennen, sondern auch lösungsorientiert damit umgehen können. Der Druck steigt. Seit Jahren will die Bundeswehr familienfreundlicher werden und gleichzeitig nehmen die Auslandseinsätze zu.

 Wer dient Deutschland, und was braucht es künftig noch mehr? „Ethik und Militär“ gibt Antworten auf sehr kritische Fragen und hat dabei die Angehörigen der Bundeswehr und ihre Familien im Blick. Viel Freude beim Lesen des „Ethik und Militär“-Specials.

csm_Unterschrift-Vaske_613765bacf.png