Skip navigation

Leadership in Multinational Organizations – the Example of Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe (SHAPE)

In all areas of modern working life, whether in business, public administration, or military alliances, there appears to be an agreement that the leadership style of managers not only affects the working behavior and motivation of employees, but also has an indirect impact on the effectiveness and efficiency of the organization as a whole. A large part of international leadership research is concerned with investigating the degree to which leaders involve those they lead in decision-making processes. What is actually being decided on – e.g. operational processes, appointments, or future strategic market orientation – is not important in the first instance. In the German armed forces (Bundes­wehr), there are clear regulations concerning the extent of participation in decision-making. The Joint Service Regulation (Zentrale Dienstvorschrift, ZDv) for the management philosophy of the Bundeswehr, called Innere Führung (leadership development and civic education), unmistakably calls upon the military leader: “I lead as a partner. I make use of the skills and abilities of my soldiers and involve them whenever possible in the decision-making process.” (ZDv A-2600/1, p. 27). Some findings from research into leadership styles at a specific type of organization – the multinational military headquarters – are presented and discussed below. In part, they can be transferred to leadership in military organizations in general.

Research into leadership styles

In the academic literature on leadership, the degree of involvement in decision-making processes is often thought of as a continuum from a more directive to more participative leadership style.1 It is assumed that leaders cultivate a particular (individual) leadership style. For a social-science investigation of leadership styles, a four-way typology has proven expedient and has formed the basis for many questionnaire surveys: authoritarian, paternalistic, participative, and democratic leadership styles. If a leader takes decisions quickly, communicates these directly and straightforwardly to their employees, and then expects these instructions to be carried out loyally and without criticism, one speaks of an authoritarian leadership style. If a leader generally takes decisions alone, but attempts to explain the rationale of their decision and responds to questions from their subordinates, then they would be called paternalistic. Participation in decision-making occurs when employees are consulted and the pros and cons are weighed up together before a decision is finally taken by the leader. The democratic leadership style always requires a discussion with the team, in which arguments are exchanged and ultimately the majority opinion is the binding basis for the decision-making. In the fourth management style, the superior plays a role more like that of a moderator.

State of research on multinational military organizations

Which of these four leadership styles is preferred by those who are led, and what impact, if any at all, does leadership style have? In recent years, at the former Social Sciences Institute of the German Armed Forces (Sozialwissenschaftliches Institut der Bundeswehr; until 2012) and currently at the German Armed Forces Center for Military History and Social Sciences (Zentrum für Militärgeschichte und Sozialwissenschaften der Bundeswehr, ZMSBw), a number of multinational units and headquarters of NATO and EU missions have been examined. Alongside a range of questions concerning deepened military cooperation2 between the nations involved from the point of view of military and defense policy as well as organizational culture, the researchers have always also taken an interest in the topic of “leadership style.” At three selected headquarters that were studied using the same method (a standardized survey) and identical questionnaire wordings (firstly, SHAPE, the military headquarters of NATO near Mons, Belgium; secondly, MNHQ/SE, the headquarters of the EU ALTHEA mission in Bosnia and Herzegovina: and thirdly, HQ 1 (GE/NL) Corps, the headquarters of the joint German-Dutch corps in Münster), the findings were consistent: staff members at all three headquarters most frequently preferred the participative leadership style (cf. figure 1).

richter-figure1.png

Figure 1: A comparison of preferred leadership styles (sources: Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe 20143, Multinational Headquarters South-East 20064, Headquarters 1st German/Netherlands Corps 2005)5. Figures in percent.

Studies to date have yielded a number of other interesting findings: (i) Patterns of preference for a given leadership style differ between nations – for example, national (military) cultures are apparently reflected in the leadership culture as well; (ii) The preferred leadership style is dependent on the military hierarchy: the higher the rank, the higher the preference for participative and democratic leadership styles; (iii) The leadership style that soldiers observe in their direct superior does not always necessarily match their preferred leadership style. This will be discussed further below; (iv)If one compares the three examples considered in figure 1, it appears that the participative style is preferred mainly in headquarters with a political and strategic orientation (such as is the case with SHAPE), whereas in headquarters such as the ALTHEA mission (i.e. in the theater of operations and in direct proximity to operational military tasks), there are relatively more supporters of the paternalistic and authoritarian leadership styles. To put it in military sociology terms, “cold” organizations carrying out – as it were – basic bureaucratic tasks can allow themselves a higher degree of participation in decision-making, while in “hot” organizations in the vicinity of operational activities and possibly also close to the fighting, there is a greater preference for a conventional model of command and obedience. This fourth statement should be regarded as a provisional finding and, because of its far-reaching implications, should certainly be validated in studies involving other headquarters.

Impact of leadership style?

One concern of the SHAPE study was to close previous research gaps. Previous studies had not focused on the consequences that the observed and desired leadership styles have on the organization’s effectiveness. Even if the participative leadership style appears to those who are led to be the ideal leadership style, is its universal application actually beneficial to the performance of the team and the organization as a whole?

At the time of the survey in the fall of 2014, the multinational staff of SHAPE comprised around 800 mainly military employees from all NATO member countries. The response rate was a pleasing 44 percent. Figure 2 shows that by a narrow majority of 53 percent (green cases), the leadership style that the respondent observed in their direct superior matched their own preferred leadership style. When there is a mismatch at the individual level, a clear preference for more participation can be seen. A not inconsiderable proportion of 27 percent in total, who stated that they were led in a paternalistic (15 percent) or authoritarian (12 percent) way, would prefer a participative style in their direct superior. This concludes the desired/actual comparison.

richter-figure2.png

Figure 2: Comparison of preferred and actual leadership styles (source: own survey at SHAPE, 2014). Congruent cases are shown in green, incongruent cases in yellow and red. Figures in percent.

Further statistical analysis showed, remarkably, that for the assessment in the questionnaire about whether SHAPE is an efficient organization, it makes no difference whether the actual leadership style matches the preferred leadership style. One might have expected that staff members who, for example, have a paternalistic superior, but would like to be led participatively, would rate the performance of SHAPE lower than their colleagues whose wishes corresponded with reality. Yet this was not the case. Similarly, no statistically significant differences in the responses could be found between the 53 percent of congruent cases and the 47 percent of incongruent cases, if one takes mission clarity as the dependent variable, i.e. the extent to which a staff member has a clear understanding of SHAPE’s mission and the organizational goals of the NATO headquarters. Above all, it was astonishing that there is no relationship between leadership style and job satisfaction. In accordance with the state of research in businesses and public organizations, one might have expected that persons who find their ideal boss reflected in their actual boss would show greater satisfaction than their “non-matching” colleagues. This, too, was not the case. To sum up the results in a nutshell: leadership style does not matter!

Conclusion and outlook

The NATO military headquarters is a rather atypical form of organization. It stands at the top of what is currently the largest and most powerful military alliance in the world. Mainly staff officers from the 28 member nations work at the headquarters in a multinational and multicultural context. In accordance with the state of research on other forms of organization, however, it is also true for SHAPE that superiors do not actively involve the employees and soldiers under their command in decision-making processes to the extent which those who are led believe should be the case. Nevertheless, the study indicates that – at least in this specific form of organization – the significance of leadership style, perhaps also the importance of leadership in general, is apparently not as great as one would have assumed for military organizations. In an organizational culture designed around coordination and consensus between 28 nations, such as that of SHAPE, the microrelation of “leader-led,” while it certainly does not retreat entirely into the background, nevertheless apparently plays a rather secondary role in the everyday process of decision-making in and between the departments. But even without demonstrable objective impacts at the organizational level or on the effectiveness of military headquarters, the requirement for a participative leadership culture – as is also formulated in the German armed forces’ Joint Service Regulation on Innere Führung – remains indispensable from the point of view of leadership ethics, and should be put into practice in everyday operational routines, not least in the military.

1 Bass, Bernhard M. (1990): Bass & Stogdill’s Handbook of Leadership. Theory, Research, and Managerial Applications, 3rd ed., New York/London, pp. 436–471.

2 Gareis, Sven Bernhard (2016): “Multinationalität als militärsoziologisches Forschungsgebiet,” in: Dörfler-Dierken, Angelika and Kümmel, Gerhard (eds.): Am Puls der Bundeswehr. Militärsoziologie in Deutschland zwischen Wissenschaft, Politik, Bundeswehr und Gesellschaft, Wiesbaden, pp. 169–188.

3 Biehl, Heiko, Moelker, René, Richter, Gregor, and Soeters, Joe (2015): OCS – Study on SHAPE’s Organizational Culture, April 2015 (unpublished report).

4 Santero, Manuel Casas and Navarro, Eulogio Sánchez (2006): “Leadership in Mission Althea 2006–2007,” in: Leonhard, Nina et al. (eds.): Military Cooperation in Multinational Missions: The Case of EUFOR in Bosnia and Herzegovina (SOWI-Forum International, vol. 28), Strausberg, pp. 161–190.

5 Vom Hagen, Ulrich (2006): “Communitate Valemus – The Relevance of Professional Trust, Collective Drills and Skills, and Task Cohesion within Integrated Multinationality,” in: Vom Hagen, Ulrich, Moelker, René, and Soeters, Joe (eds.): Cultural Interoperability. Ten Years of Research into Cooperation in the First German-Netherlands Corps (SOWI-Forum International, vol. 27), Breda and Strausberg, pp. 53–95.

Author

Foto_Richter.JPG

Gregor Richter is a project manager at the Center for Military History and Social Sciences of the German Armed Forces (Zentrum für Militärgeschichte und Sozialwissenschaften der Bundeswehr, ZMSBw) in Potsdam and an associate lecturer at the University of Potsdam. He studied sociology, statistics, and economics at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München and received a doctorate in social policy from Universität der Bundes­wehr München. His current work and research interests focus on the field of empirical personnel, and organizational research, and military sociology. Together with Professor Eva-Maria Kern, he recently edited the book “Streitkräftemanagement. Neue Planungs- und Steuerungsinstrumente in der Bundeswehr.” 

gregorrichterbundeswehrorg

Zum Inhalt springen

Führung in multinationalen Organisationen am Beispiel Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe (SHAPE)

Für alle Bereiche des modernen Arbeitslebens, ob in Unternehmen, öffentlichen Verwaltungen oder militärischen Verbänden, scheint Einigkeit zu herrschen, dass der Führungsstil von Vorgesetzten nicht nur das Arbeitsverhalten und die Motivation von Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern beeinflusst, sondern sich auch indirekt auf die Effektivität und die Effizienz der gesamten Organisation auswirkt. Ein Großteil der internationalen Führungsforschung untersucht dabei insbesondere den Grad der Einbindung von Geführten durch Führungskräfte bei Entscheidungsprozessen. Über was entschieden wird – z.B. über betriebliche Abläufe, Stellenbesetzungen oder die zukünftige strategische Marktausrichtung –, ist dabei erst einmal nicht von Bedeutung. In der Bundeswehr existiert eine klare Vorschriftenlage, welchen Umfang die Entscheidungspartizipation haben soll. Die Zentrale Dienstvorschrift (ZDv) für die Führungsphilosophie der Bundeswehr, die Innere Führung, fordert den militärischen Führer unmissverständlich auf: „Ich führe partnerschaftlich. Ich nutze die Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten meiner Soldatinnen und Soldaten und beteilige sie wann immer möglich an meiner Entscheidungsfindung.“ (ZDv A-2600/1, S. 27). Im Folgenden werden einige Ergebnisse aus der Erforschung von Führungsstilen an einem spezifischen Organisationstypus, dem multinationalen militärischen Hauptquartier, präsentiert und diskutiert. Sie lassen sich zum Teil auf Führung in militärischen Organisationen im Allgemeinen übertragen.

Führungsstilforschung

In der wissenschaftlichen Literatur über Führung wird der Grad der Beteiligung an Entscheidungsprozessen oft in einem Kontinuum von eher direktiven bis eher partizipativen Führungsstilen gedacht.1 Dabei geht man davon aus, dass Führungskräfte einen bestimmten (individuellen) Führungsstil pflegen. Für eine sozialwissenschaftliche Untersuchung von Führungsstilen hat sich eine Vierer-Typologie als zweckdienlich erwiesen, die vielen Fragebogenstudien zugrunde liegt: autoritärer, paternalistischer, partizipativer und demokratischer Führungsstil. Fällt eine Führungskraft Entscheidungen schnell, kommuniziert diese unmissverständlich und ohne Umschweife an ihre Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen und erwartet dann, dass die Anweisungen loyal und ohne Kritik umgesetzt werden, spricht man von einem autoritären Führungsstil. Fällt die Führungskraft Entscheidungen in der Regel zwar alleine, versucht sie aber das Rational ihrer Entscheidung zu erläutern und antwortet sie auf Nachfragen ihrer Untergebenen, dann würde man sie als paternalistisch bezeichnen. Entscheidungspartizipation setzt ein, wenn die Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen konsultiert und Pros und Kontras gemeinsam abgewogen werden, bevor eine Entscheidung abschließend von der Führungskraft gefällt wird. Der demokratische Führungsstil setzt grundsätzlich eine Besprechung mit dem Team voraus, in der Argumente ausgetauscht werden und letztlich die Mehrheitsmeinung die verbindliche Basis für die Entscheidungsfindung ist. Im vierten Führungsstil spielt der bzw. die Vorgesetzte also eher die Rolle eines Moderators bzw. einer Moderatorin.

Forschungsstand zu multinationalen militärischen Organisationen

Welcher dieser vier Führungsstile wird von den Geführten bevorzugt und welche Wirkungen hat Führungsstil überhaupt? In den letzten Jahren wurden am ehemaligen Sozialwissenschaftlichen Institut der Bundeswehr (bis 2012) und heute am Zentrum für Militärgeschichte und Sozialwissenschaften der Bundeswehr (ZMSBw) einige multinationale Verbände und Hauptquartiere von NATO und EU-Missionen untersucht. Neben vielfältigen Fragen der vertieften militärischen Zusammenarbeit2 zwischen den beteiligten Nationen unter militär- und verteidigungspolitischer sowie organisationskultureller Perspektive stand auch immer das Thema „Führungsstil“ im Interesse der Forscherinnen und Forscher. An drei hier ausgewählten, mit gleicher Methode (standardisierte Befragung) und identischen Fragebogenformulierungen beforschten Hauptquartieren (erstens SHAPE, dem militärischen Hauptquartier der NATO in der Nähe von Mons, Belgien, zweitens MNHQ/SE, dem Hauptquartier der EU-Mission ALTHEA in Bosnien-Herzegowina, und drittens HQ 1 [GE/NL] Corps, dem Hauptquartier des gemeinsamen deutsch-niederländischen Korps in Münster) lässt sich ein einheitlicher Befund ablesen: Der partizipative Führungsstil wird von den Stabsangehörigen in allen drei betrachteten Hauptquartieren am häufigsten präferiert (vgl. Abb. 1).

richter-abb1.png

Abb. 1: präferierte Führungsstile im Vergleich (Quellen: Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe 2014,3 Multinational Headquarters South-East 2006,4 Headquarters 1st German/Netherlands Corps 2005).5 Angaben in Prozent.

Die bisherigen Studien erbrachten einige weitere interessante Ergebnisse. (1) Die Präferenzmuster für Führungsstile differieren zwischen den Nationen, d.h. nationale (Militär-)Kulturen schlagen sich offenbar auch in der Führungskultur nieder. (2) Der bevorzugte Führungsstil ist abhängig von der militärischen Hierarchie: je höher der Rang, desto höher die Präferenz für partizipative und demokratische Führungsstile. (3) Der von einem Soldaten bei seinem direkten Vorgesetzten beobachtete Führungsstil muss nicht immer mit dem Wunschführungsstil übereinstimmen. Hierzu unten mehr. (4) Vergleicht man die drei in Abb. 1 betrachteten Beispiele, so liegt der Schluss nahe, dass der partizipative Stil vor allem in Hauptquartieren mit eher politischer und strategischer Ausrichtung präferiert wird (so bei SHAPE), in einem Hauptquartier wie dem der ALTHEA-Mission (also im Einsatzgebiet und in unmittelbarer Nähe zu operativen militärischen Aufgaben) hingegen gibt es relativ mehr Befürworter für den paternalistischen und für den autoritären Führungsstil. Militärsoziologisch gesprochen: „Kalte“ Organisationen im – wenn man so will – bürokratischen Grundbetrieb können sich eine stärkere Entscheidungspartizipation leisten, in „heißen“ Organisationen nahe am Einsatz- und ggf. auch am Kampfgeschehen wird eher ein klassisches Schema von Befehl und Gehorsam präferiert. Diese vierte Aussage ist als ein vorläufiger Befund zu betrachten und müsste wegen ihrer weitreichenden Implikationen sicherlich in Untersuchungen in weiteren Hauptquartieren validiert werden.

Wirkungen von Führungsstilen?

Ein Anliegen der SHAPE-Studie war es, bisherige Forschungslücken zu schließen. In den vorangegangenen Studien wurde nicht thematisiert, welche Konsequenzen die beobachteten und die Wunschführungsstile auf die Effektivität der Organisation haben. Ist die flächendeckende Anwendung des partizipativen Führungsstils, wenn er doch in den Augen der Geführten als idealer Stil erscheint, auch für die Performance der Arbeitsteams und der Gesamtorganisation förderlich?

Der multinationale Stab von SHAPE umfasste zum Zeitpunkt der Befragung im Herbst 2014 ca. 800 vor allem militärische Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen aus allen NATO-Mitgliedsstaaten. Der Rücklauf betrug erfreuliche 44 Prozent. Abb. 2 ist zu entnehmen, dass bei einer knappen Mehrheit von 53 Prozent (grüne Fälle) der beim direkten Vorgesetzten beobachtete Führungsstil mit dem eigenen Wunschführungsstil übereinstimmt. Wenn auf individueller Ebene eine Inkongruenz besteht, dann kann eine klare Tendenz zu mehr Partizipation festgestellt werden: Ein nicht unerheblicher Anteil von insgesamt 27 Prozent, der seiner Ansicht nach paternalistisch (15 Prozent) bzw. autoritär 
(12 Prozent) geführt wird, würde einen partizipativen Stil bei seinem direkten Vorgesetzten bevorzugen. So weit die Gegenüberstellung von Soll und Ist.

richter-abb2.png

Abb. 2: Präferierter und tatsächlicher Führungsstil im Vergleich (Quelle: eigene Erhebung in SHAPE 2014). Kongruente Fälle grün, inkongruente Fälle gelb und rot. Angaben in Prozent.

Die weitere statistische Analyse zeigte bemerkenswerterweise, dass es für die Einschätzung im Fragebogen, ob SHAPE eine effiziente Organisation ist, keinen Unterschied macht, ob der tatsächliche Führungsstil mit dem Wunschführungsstil übereinstimmt. Man hätte erwarten können, dass Stabsangehörige, die z.B. einen paternalistischen Vorgesetzten haben, jedoch partizipativ geführt werden möchten, die Performanz von SHAPE geringer einschätzen als ihre Kameraden und Kameradinnen, bei denen Wunsch und Wirklichkeit korrespondieren. Dies war jedoch nicht der Fall. Ebenso konnten keine statistisch signifikanten Unterschiede im Antwortverhalten zwischen den 53 Prozent kongruenten Fällen und den 47 Prozent inkongruenten Fällen ermittelt werden, nimmt man als abhängige Variable die mission clarity, also das Ausmaß, in dem ein Stabsangehöriger ein klares Verständnis vom Auftrag von SHAPE und den Organisationszielen des NATO-Hauptquartiers hat. Vor allem aber erstaunt hat, dass es keinen Zusammenhang zwischen Führungsstil und Arbeitszufriedenheit gab. Man hätte in Übereinstimmung mit dem Forschungsstand in Unternehmen und öffentlichen Organisationen erwarten können, dass Personen, die ihren Wunschvorgesetzten auch in ihrem tatsächlichen Vorgesetzten gespiegelt finden, eine höhere Zufriedenheit aufweisen als ihre „inkongruenten“ Kameradinnen und Kameraden. Auch dies war nicht der Fall. Um die Ergebnisse auf eine griffige Formel zu bringen: Leadership style does not matter!

Zusammenfassung und Ausblick

Das militärische Hauptquartier der NATO ist eine eher untypische Organisationsform: Es steht an der Spitze des zurzeit größten und schlagkräftigsten Militärbündnisses in der Welt. In ihm arbeiten vor allem Stabsoffiziere aus den 28 Mitgliedsnationen in einem multinationalen und multikulturellen Kontext. In Übereinstimmung mit dem Forschungsstand zu anderen Organisationsformen gilt dennoch auch für SHAPE, dass ein partizipativer Umgang von Vorgesetzten mit den ihnen anvertrauten Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen, Soldaten und Soldatinnen in Entscheidungsprozessen nicht in dem Umfang stattfindet, wie es aus Sicht der Geführten der Fall sein sollte. Gleichwohl gibt die Studie einen Hinweis darauf, dass – zumindest in dieser speziellen Organisationsform – die Bedeutung des Führungsstils, vielleicht auch die Bedeutung von Führung im Allgemeinen, offenbar nicht so groß ist, wie man für militärische Organisationen unterstellen würde. In einer auf Abstimmung und Konsens zwischen 28 Nationen angelegten Organisationskultur wie der von SHAPE tritt die Mikrorelation „Führer–Geführte“ zwar sicherlich nicht völlig in den Hintergrund, für den täglichen Prozess der Entscheidungsfindung in den Abteilungen und zwischen diesen spielt sie aber offenbar eine eher untergeordnete Rolle. Aber auch ohne nachweisbare objektive Wirkungen auf die Organisationsebene bzw. auf die Effektivität militärischer Stäbe – die Forderung nach einer partizipativen Führungskultur, wie sie auch in der Vorschrift zur Inneren Führung der Bundeswehr formuliert ist, bleibt unter führungsethischen Erwägungen unverzichtbar und sollte im betrieblichen und nicht zuletzt militärischen Arbeitsalltag gelebt werden.

1 Bass, Bernhard M. (1990): Bass & Stogdill’s Handbook of Leadership. Theory, Research, and Managerial Applications. 3rd Ed. New York/London, S. 436–471.

2 Gareis, Sven Bernhard (2016): Multinationalität als militärsoziologisches Forschungsgebiet, in: Dörfler-Dierken, Angelika und Kümmel, Gerhard (Hrsg.): Am Puls der Bundeswehr. Militärsoziologie in Deutschland zwischen Wissenschaft, Politik, Bundeswehr und Gesellschaft. Wiesbaden, S. 169–188.

3 Biehl, Heiko, Moelker, René, Richter, Gregor, und Soeters, Joe (2015): OCS – Study on SHAPE’s Organizational Culture, April 2015 (unveröff. Bericht).

4 Santero, Manuel Casas, und Navarro, Eulogio Sánchez (2006): Leadership in Mission Althea 2006–2007, in: Leonhard, Nina, et al. (Hrsg.): Military Co-operation in Multinational Missions: The Case of EUFOR in Bosnia and Herzegovina S. 161–190. 28), Strausberg, S. 161–190.

5 Vom Hagen, Ulrich (2006): Communitate Valemus – The Relevance of Professional Trust, Collective Drills and Skills, and Task Cohesion within Integrated Multinationality, in: vom Hagen, Ulrich, Moelker, René, und Soeters, Joe (Hrsg.): Cultural Interoperability. Ten Years of Research into Co-operation in the First German-Netherlands Corps. (SOWI-Forum International, Band 27) Breda und Strausberg, S. 53–95.

Autor

Foto_Richter.JPG

Dr. Gregor Richter ist Projektleiter am Zentrum für Militärgeschichte und Sozialwissenschaften der Bundeswehr in Potsdam und Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität Potsdam. Er hat an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München Soziologie, Statistik und Volkswirtschaftslehre studiert und wurde an der Universität der Bundeswehr München zu einem sozialpolitischen Thema promoviert. Seine Arbeitsgebiete und Forschungsinteressen liegen heute im Bereich der empirischen Personal- und Organisationsforschung und der Militärsoziologie. Zusammen mit Prof. Dr. Eva-Maria Kern hat er jüngst den Band „Streitkräftemanagement. Neue Planungs- und Steuerungsinstrumente in der Bundeswehr“ herausgegeben.

gregorrichterbundeswehrorg