Skip navigation

Innere Führung and Global Integral ­Competence

Innere Führung and globalization: intercultural competence in the German armed forces

Particularly in today’s globalized environment, it is important to have an awareness about one’s own heritage and about different society-specific leadership cultures. Deployments no longer only take place under the command of a single nation. Working together requires cooperation between nations and mutual understanding.

Resolute Support has a multinational environment. The mentor team of the 209th Corps comprises around 60 NCOs and officers from 12 nations who have to bridge their cultural differences in order to fulfill a common mission. Among them are “only” five German soldiers. This heterogeneous group, spanning different ranks and country borders, has one task: to advise the Afghan National Army in northern Afghanistan.

From the German perspective, intercultural competence (ICC) requires an understanding of Innere Führung and putting it into practice. In terms of human dignity, the core philosophy of Innere Führung (leadership development and civic education) was devised in such a way that, even today, it can form an essential part of the intercultural competence of the German armed forces (Bundes­wehr). Back then, albeit unconsciously, the conditions were created for ICC. Mutual tolerance and accepting as well as respecting the other’s culture are the basis for communication and a guarantee of success. One does not need to be on an overseas deployment to apply intercultural competence. Respect and tolerance are required in Germany, too. Superiors in particular are called upon to permit and promote pluralism. Military leaders are “leaders, educators, and trainers” who have a high level of competence in soft skills such as tolerance, empathy, and the ability to communicate, and they should be able to foster these skills. These requirements are not limited to leaders – they apply to all members of the armed forces.

To assist superiors in the promotion of ICC, a wide variety of courses are available at the Center for Innere Führung (Zentrum Innere Führung, ZInFü) and at the German Federal Armed Forces Command and Staff College (Führungsakademie der Bundeswehr). In day-to-day military life, however, other areas of training are dealt with more urgently. Innere Führung or ICC is usually of secondary importance.

ICC is a mandatory part of training and planning for deployments. This training includes courses in regional studies and more general information, but is limited to the practical rules of conduct for the respective country and culture. Yet this is not the same thing as intercultural competence. ICC is not simply a list of dos and don’ts!

The German Armed Forces should adapt themselves to a more multinational context with the associated intercultural competencies. ICC is and will be the everyday tool kit of every soldier, especially superiors, during deployments.

Innere Führung and postmodernity: diversity competence among leaders

The Bundeswehr’s system of values, like that of society, is subject to constant change, and therefore should always be discussed in the current spirit of the times. Thus, Innere Führung is also constantly changing. Particularly as a result of deployments in recent years, and especially since the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) mission, Innere Führung has been a topic of discussion. The question has to be asked of whether it is still in keeping with the times, and whether, in an unchanged form, it measures up to present-day requirements. The internationalization of missions, the multinational nature of staffs, and the placing of other nations’ troops under German command in their home country are causing the military world to grow together, while compelling an adaptation of Innere Führung.

Despite all discussions in society and in the military, Innere Führung still remains the basis for action  because values such as human dignity, freedom, peace, justice, equality, solidarity, and democracy are timeless. At the same time, a balancing act needs to be performed between maintaining the core values of Innere Führung and adapting to society’s current needs.

This changing of needs should also be reflected in the corresponding regulations. Dörfler-Dier­ken and Kramer (2013) highlight a discrepancy in the distribution of and knowledge about Innere Führung in the armed forces. There is a clear difference between the rank groups which shows the importance of Innere Führung with regard to the understanding of military service in day-to-day life and during deployments. This different understanding and interpretation of Innere Führung may lead to misconceptions in leadership behavior. At the same time, one runs the risk of losing the beneficial effects of successful cooperation, or rather of not being able to generate such effects in the first place.

It is precisely the diversity of the armed ­forces, the wealth of all kinds of different aspects, which gives the Bundeswehr the decisive advantage in future deployments. This diversity is characterized particularly by Innere Führung in practice and by ICC that is not directed solely at one’s own self. A global view of the problems should be the goal.

During future Bundeswehr deployments, there will be a greater need for diversity management skills, especially if the Bundeswehr expands its mandate to train foreign armed forces or in the case of training missions that are based on a “postwar conflict.” Effective peace consolidation is only possible in cooperation with the host country or partner nations. This requires systematic thinking as a world citizen.

Global integral competence – a possible contribution to the evolution of Innere Führung

The November 2015 terror attacks in Paris were viewed by society’s conservative wing as a confirmation of the “Clash of Civilizations” hypothesis that was put forward in 1996 by US political scientist Samuel Huntington. Many academic writers have warned against his reductionist definition of culture, which is also still dominant in the theory and practice of intercultural training (e.g. cultural standard and cultural dimension), and they have criticized the illusion of the singularity of identity. A person should be regarded as an individual with many affiliations or as a member of many different groups. In intercultural interaction, one should recognize one’s own multiple identity, and at the same time recognize and acknowledge the identity of others so as to avoid ascribing and further entrenching a single cultural identity.

A postmodern concept of ICC should enable leaders in the Bundeswehr to recognize their multiple social identity and furthermore to discover their personal identity. The learning process in any such formation of identity is a transformative learning process, in which “learning as change” takes place as described by Gregory Bateson (1972).

His multilevel model of learning provides a theoretical foundation for the new concept of intercultural training which postulates that the reconstruction of identity is possible through “awareness transformation” at a higher level of learning. This “awareness transformation” takes place consciously and unconsciously in the intercultural context. However, it can still be fostered more efficiently via intercultural training prior to soldiers’ overseas deployment by suspending cultural factors in behavior, skills, beliefs, and identities. The role of science is to develop specific training approaches to promote “diversity management competence,” i.e. the ability to perceive one’s own and others’ diversity of identities as integral parts of the system as a whole and to establish a solid foundation for peace consolidation in postwar regions.

Future training in Innere Führung, in particular, should seek to further enhance the capabilities of the armed forces, especially of leaders, for successful peace consolidation. The concept of Innere Führung focuses on the person and their ability to exert influence on conflicts and peace. Members of the armed forces need to influence people on different levels of society in order to contribute to peace consolidation and ultimately initiate a transformation of the system.

To state this theory in more detail, the concept of Innere Führung can be combined or expanded with Wilber’s “Integral Theory” (2007). In particular, the quadrant model of his integral theory will be considered here as it can serve as an important addition to the concept of Innere Führung. The quadrant model makes it possible to understand interpersonal events in an integrated and comprehensive manner and therefore multiplies the possibilities for action. It presents us with a basic model for considering both the paradigms and the specific learning fields and learning levels. The meaning of the individual quadrants is explained briefly below.

According to Wilber (2007), events can be experienced individually and collectively, while phenomena can be perceived subjectively (interior perspective) and objectively (exterior perspective). Using these dimensions, Wilber defines the quadrant model as depicted in figure 1:

matoba-kuestner-figure1.png
Figure 1: Ken Wilber’s integral theory (own diagram following Wilbur [2007: 71])

Upper-left quadrant – Interior individual perspective – “I”

This quadrant contains individual and subjective perceptions, that is, the individual’s own awareness. These are one’s own feelings, intentions, and sensations which are perceived consciously or unconsciously. In dialog and exchange with other people, we obtain new knowledge about ourselves. In particular, identity, self-reflection, and personality development are part of this quadrant.

Lower-left quadrant – Interior collective perspective – “We”

This quadrant consists of a consensus of politics, family, school, and work. It comprises values, norms, role models, and cultural conventions that influence the individual and society – sometimes consciously, but mainly unconsciously. The awareness of the community and the impact of collective conventions can be found here. From the educational perspective, ethic-moral education is located in this quadrant. The interior collective perspective determines social and intercultural competence and is therefore crucial in intercultural dialog.

Upper-right quadrant – Exterior individual perspective – “It”

In this quadrant, people’s opinions and behaviors are objectively viewed from the outside. What the individual feels or thinks is not relevant here. It is about creating objectivity and comparability. Scientific measurement methods make this possible. Measurable values would be, for example, information about a conflict, understanding of the law, school education, and negotiation and analysis skills. “It” therefore represents the scientific field.

Lower-right quadrant – Exterior collective perspective – “Its”

This perspective consists of the exterior, visible behavior of systems of all kinds. This implies educational, state, and economic systems as well as the global ecological system. Other factors such as infrastructure also play a role. How does a system behave outwardly and what do the communication processes look like?

These four quadrants are four different perspectives from which one can gain a comprehensive and integrated view of people, society, and the world. In the global perspective, this approach of multiple perspectives is called “global integral competence.” The term describes the attribute of a subject capable of acting and shaping their own personality and the global environment. Global integral competence results from bringing these four perspectives into balance, and recognizing the self and others in a causal relationship within a big system.

“It”: Becoming aware of our neuronal perception of the world and our attribution of meaning, with the goal of pushing the boundaries and developing new meaning and possibilities for action.

“I”: Recognizing one’s own complex system of plural identity, developing a coherent identity, and expanding options and scope for action.

“We”: Recognizing individual potentials for developing a new culture by suspending prejudices/assumptions and developing competence for dialogical communication, i.e. listening.

“Its”: Recognizing that we stick together by means of an implicit system and differentiate ourselves from each other by means of an explicit system.

For example, a mentor in the German armed forces in Afghanistan should perceive their Afghan trainees without prejudice via the “It” and “I” perspective. Via the “We” perspective, they should be capable of developing a trusting relationship with their trainee, in which a new, appropriate leadership culture emerges. Beyond the differentiated institutional functions such as trainer–trainee, they should recognize that they and their trainees are integral parts of a global system.

Global integral competence is a broad term that comprises a bundle of self, social, and system competencies that are vital for modern human resources development in the armed forces. The theoretical development of this concept can be tied in with the contemporary evolution of Innere Führung, as it needs to adapt in the context of globalization and integration to international structures.

References:

Bateson, Gregory (1972): Step to an ecology of mind, Chicago.

Dörfler-Dieken, Angelika and Kramer, Robert (2014): Innere Führung in Zahlen: Streitkräftebefragung 2013, Berlin.

Huntington, Samuel (1996): The Clash of Civilizations and the Remaking of World Order, New York.

Wilber, Ken (2007): Integrale Vision, Munich.

Authors

Foto_Matoba.JPG

Kazuma Matoba studied and gained his doctorate in communication science in Tokyo and Duisburg. Following his habilitation at Witten/Herdecke University, he worked as a lecturer at various German and international universities. Alongside his academic activities, he is active around the world as a coach in intercultural communication and peace consolidation. He has been teaching and undertaking research at the Faculty of Human Sciences at Universität der Bundeswehr München since 2014.

kazuma.matobaunibwde

Foto_Kuestner.jpg

Bernd Küstner joined the German armed forces in 2000 as an officer candidate in the former armored reconnaissance corps (Panzeraufklä­rungstruppe). Following his training as an officer, and after studying educational science at Universität der Bundeswehr München, he served as a platoon leader, Kompanieeinsatzoffizier, and staff officer. Küstner currently works as a team leader in military training support. His three overseas deployments to date – in 2011, 2013, and 2015 – have taken him to Afghanistan.

kuestner.berndgooglemailcom

Zum Inhalt springen

Innere Führung und globale integrale Kompetenz

Innere Führung und Globalisierung: interkulturelle Kompetenz der Bundeswehr

Insbesondere im heutigen globalisierten Umfeld ist das Bewusstsein über die eigene Herkunft und gesellschaftsspezifische Führungskulturen wichtig. Einsätze finden nicht mehr nur unter dem Kommando einer einzigen Nation statt. Das gemeinsame Arbeiten erfordert eine Kooperation der Nationen und setzt das gegenseitige Verstehen voraus.

Bei Resolute Support besteht so ein multinationales Umfeld. Das Mentoren-Team des 209. Korps besteht aus ca. 60 Unteroffizieren und Offizieren aus zwölf Nationen, die ihre kulturellen Differenzen überbrücken müssen, um einen gemeinsamen Auftrag erfüllen zu können. Darunter sind „nur“ fünf deutsche Soldaten. Diese heterogene Gruppe, über Dienstgrade und Ländergrenzen hinweg, hat einen Auftrag: Die Beratung der Afghan National Army im Norden Afghanistans. 

Die interkulturelle Kompetenz (IKK) setzt, aus deutscher Sicht, das Verstehen und das Leben der Inneren Führung voraus. Die Kernphilosophie der Inneren Führung in Bezug auf Menschenwürde wurde damals so konzipiert, dass sie auch heute ein essenzieller Bestandteil der interkulturellen Kompetenz der Bundeswehr sein kann. Man hat damals schon unbewusst die Voraussetzungen für die IKK geschaffen. Die gegenseitige Toleranz und das Anerkennen bzw. das Respektieren der Kultur des anderen ist die Basis für eine Kommunikation untereinander und der Garant für den Erfolg. Man muss nicht im Auslandseinsatz sein, um interkulturelle Kompetenz anzuwenden. Auch in Deutschland sind Respekt und Toleranz gefordert. Insbesondere Vorgesetzte sind aufgefordert Pluralismus zuzulassen und zu fördern. Militärische Führer sind „Führer, Erzieher und Ausbilder“, die eine hohe Kompetenz in den sogenannten Soft Skills wie Toleranz, Einfühlungsvermögen und Kommunikationsfähigkeit aufweisen und fördern sollten. Diese Anforderung beschränkt sich nicht nur auf das Führungspersonal, sondern gilt für alle Armeeangehörigen. 

Zur Unterstützung der Vorgesetzten zur Förderung der IKK gibt es verschiedenste Lehrgänge am Zentrum für Innere Führung und an der Führungsakademie der Bundeswehr. Im täglichen Dienstalltag werden allerdings andere Ausbildungsbereiche als dringlicher behandelt. Die Innere Führung oder IKK folgen meist erst nachgeordnet.

In der Einsatzvorbereitung ist die IKK ein zwingender Bestandteil der Ausbildung und Vorbereitung. Im Rahmen der Ausbildung werden die Landeskunde und allgemeine Informationen gelehrt; sie beschränkt sich auf die praktischen Verhaltensregeln für das jeweilige Land und die jeweilige Kultur. Das ist aber nicht mit der Fähigkeit zu IKK gleichzusetzen. IKK ist nicht das Wissen um die Dos and Don’ts!

Die Bundeswehr muss sich auf mehr Multinationalität und die damit einhergehende IKK einstellen. IKK ist und wird das tägliche Handwerkszeug eines jeden Soldaten, besonders der Vorgesetzten, im Einsatz sein. 

Innere Führung und Postmoderne: Diversitätskompetenz der Führung 

Das Wertesystem der Bundeswehr unterliegt, wie das der Gesellschaft, einem beständigen Wandel und ist damit immer im aktuellen Zeitgeist zu diskutieren. Somit ist die Innere Führung ebenfalls in einem ständigen Wandel. Gerade durch die Einsätze in den letzten Jahren, insbesondere seit dem ISAF-Einsatz ist die Innere Führung in der Diskussion und muss sich die Frage gefallen lassen, ob sie noch zeitgemäß ist und den heutigen Ansprüchen in unveränderter Form gerecht wird. Die Internationalisierung der Einsätze, die Multinationalität der Stäbe oder die Unterstellung von Truppen anderer Nationen unter deutsches Kommando im Inland lassen die militärische Welt zusammenwachsen und machen eine Anpassung der Inneren Führung nötig. 

Trotz aller gesellschaftlichen und militärischen Diskussionen ist die Innere Führung auch heute noch die Basis des Handelns, denn Werte wie Menschenwürde, Freiheit, Frieden, Gerechtigkeit, Gleichheit, Solidarität und Demokratie sind zeitlos. Dabei muss der Spagat zwischen dem Erhalt der zentralen Werte der Inneren Führung und der Anpassung an die aktuellen Bedürfnisse der Gesellschaft geschafft werden.

Diese Änderung der Bedürfnisse muss auch in der entsprechenden Vorschrift wiedergegeben werden. Dörfler-Dieken und Kramer (2013) zeigen eine Diskrepanz in der Verbreitung und Kenntnis über die Innere Führung in den Streitkräften auf. Dabei wird der Unterschied zwischen den Dienstgradgruppen deutlich und deren Bedeutung für das Dienstverständnis im Alltag und im Einsatz. Dieses unterschiedliche Verstehen und Deuten der Inneren Führung kann zu Fehldeutungen im Führungsverhalten führen. Dabei läuft man aber Gefahr, die gewinnbringenden Effekte einer erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit zu verlieren bzw. sie eben erst gar nicht generieren zu können. 

Es ist eben gerade die Diversität der Streitkräfte, der Reichtum an verschiedensten Facetten, welcher der Bundeswehr in den zukünftigen Einsätzen den entscheidenden Vorteil bringt. Diese Diversität zeichnet sich besonders durch die gelebte Innere Führung und IKK aus, die nicht nur auf das eigene Selbst gerichtet ist. Der globale Blick auf die Problemstellungen muss das Ziel sein.

In zukünftigen Einsätzen der Bundeswehr wird die Fähigkeit zur Diversitätsführung stärker gefordert werden. Insbesondere wenn die Bundeswehr die Mandate zur Ausbildung fremder Streitkräfte ausbaut oder wenn es um Ausbildungsmissionen geht, die auf einem postwar conflict gründen. Nur in der Kooperation mit dem Gastland oder Partnernationen ist eine wirksame Friedenskonsolidierung möglich. Dazu ist ein systemisches Denken als Weltenbürger nötig.

Globale integrale Kompetenz – ein möglicher Beitrag zur Evolution der Inneren Führung

Der Terror von Paris im November 2015 wurde von dem konservativen Flügel der Gesellschaft als eine Bestätigung der These vom drohenden „Kampf der Kulturen“, die der US-Politologe Samuel Huntington 1996 aufgestellt hatte, gesehen. Vor seiner reduktionistischen Kulturdefinition, die auch in Theorie und Praxis des interkulturellen Trainings noch dominant ist (z.B. Kulturstandard und Kulturdimension), warnten viele Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und kritisierten die Illusion der Singularität der Identität. Ein Mensch ist als Individuum mit vielen Zugehörigkeiten oder als Mitglied vieler verschiedener Gruppen zu betrachten. In der interkulturellen Interaktion muss man seine eigene multiple Identität erkennen und gleichzeitig die Identität von den anderen erkennen und anerkennen, um die Zuschreibung und Zementierung einer einzigen kulturellen Identität zu vermeiden. 

Ein postmodernes Konzept der IKK muss Führungskräfte der Bundeswehr dazu bringen können, ihre multiple soziale Identität zu erkennen und darüber hinaus ihre persönliche Identität zu entdecken. Der Lernprozess einer solchen Identitätsbildung ist ein transformativer Lernprozess, in dem „Lernen als Veränderung“ im Sinne von Gregory Bateson (1972) stattfindet. 

Sein Stufenmodell des Lernens liefert eine theoretische Grundlage des neuen Konzeptes des interkulturellen Trainings, das postuliert, dass die Rekonstruktion der Identität durch „Bewusstseinstransformation“ auf einer höheren Stufe des Lernens möglich ist. Die  „Bewusstseinstransformation“ findet in interkulturellem Kontext bewusst und unbewusst statt, aber es kann noch durch ein interkulturelles Training vor dem Auslandseinsatz der Soldatinnen und Soldaten effizienter gefördert werden, indem man die kulturelle Prägung bei Verhalten, Fähigkeiten, Glaubenssätzen und Identitäten suspendiert. Die Aufgabe der Wissenschaft liegt in der Entwicklung der konkreten Trainingsansätze zur Förderung der „Diversitätsführungskompetenz“, die Vielfalt der Identitäten des Eigenen und Anderen als integrale Teile des Gesamtsystems wahrzunehmen und darüber hinaus ein solides Fundament der Friedenskonsolidierung in Postkriegsgebieten zu etablieren.

Gerade bei der zukünftigen Bildung der Inneren Führung sollte es darum gehen, die Fähigkeiten der Streitkräfte und besonders der Führungskräfte für eine erfolgreiche Friedenskonsolidierung weiter auszubilden. Im Fokus vom Konzept der Inneren Führung stehen der Mensch und seine Einflussmöglichkeiten auf Konflikte und Frieden. Die Armeeangehörigen müssen auf die Menschen verschiedener Gesellschaftsebenen wirken, um zu einer Friedenskonsolidierung beizutragen und letztendlich eine Transformation und Veränderung des Systems zu initiieren.

Zur Konkretisierung dieser These lässt sich das Konzept der Inneren Führung mit „Integraler Theorie“ von Wilber (2007) verbinden bzw. erweitern. Im Besonderen soll an dieser Stelle das Quadrantenmodell seiner integralen Theorie betrachtet werden, welches als wichtige Ergänzung zum Konzept der Inneren Führung genutzt werden kann. Das Quadrantenmodell ermöglicht, zwischenmenschliches Geschehen ganzheitlich und umfassend zu verstehen und damit Handlungsmöglichkeiten zu vervielfachen. Es stellt für uns ein Grundlagenmodell zur Betrachtung sowohl der Paradigmen als auch der spezifischen Lernfelder und Lernebenen dar. Hierzu wird in kurzer Form die Bedeutung der einzelnen Quadranten erläutert.

Nach Wilber (2007) können Ereignisse individuell und kollektiv erlebt werden, Phänomene können innerlich (subjektiv) und äußerlich (objektiv) wahrgenommen werden. Aus diesen Dimensionen definiert Wilber das Quadrantenmodell, das in Abb. 1 dargestellt ist.

matoba-abb1.png
Abb. 1: integrale Theorie von Ken Wilber (eigene Darstellung nach Wilber [2007: 71])

Oberer linker Quadrant – individuelle Innenperspektive – <ICH>

Dieser Quadrant beinhaltet die individuellen und subjektiven Wahrnehmungen bzw. das eigene Bewusstsein des Einzelnen. Es geht um die eigenen Gefühle, Intentionen und Empfindungen, welche bewusst oder unbewusst wahrgenommen werden. Im Austausch und Dialog mit anderen Menschen beziehen wir neue Erkenntnisse über uns selbst. Insbesondere Identität, Selbstreflexion und Persönlichkeitsbildung sind Bestandteil dieses Quadranten. 

Unterer linker Quadrant – kollektive Innenperspektive – <WIR>

Dieser Quadrant beinhaltet einen Konsens aus Politik, Familie, Schule und Beruf. Es geht um Wertvorstellungen, Normen, Rollenbilder und kulturelle Übereinkünfte, die teils bewusst, aber vor allem unterbewusst den Einzelnen sowie die Gesellschaft beeinflussen. Das Bewusstsein von der Gemeinschaft und die Wirkung kollektiver Übereinkünfte lassen sich hier verorten. Die Bildungsperspektive sieht in diesem Quadranten die ethisch-moralische Bildung. Die kollektive Innenperspektive bestimmt soziale sowie interkulturelle Kompetenz und ist somit entscheidend im interkulturellen Dialog.

Oberer rechter Quadrant – individuelle Außenperspektive – <ES>

In diesem Quadranten werden Ansichten und Verhalten von Menschen objektiv von außen betrachtet. Was das Individuum fühlt oder denkt, ist hier nicht von Relevanz. Es geht darum, Objektivität und Vergleichbarkeit zu schaffen. Wissenschaftliche Messmethoden machen dies möglich. Messbare Werte wären beispielsweise an dieser Stelle Informationen über einen Konflikt, Rechtsverständnis, schulische Bildung, Verhandlungs- und Analysekompetenzen. Das ES steht also für den naturwissenschaftlichen Bereich. 

Unterer rechter Quadrant – kollektive Außenperspektive – <SIE>

In dieser Sichtweise handelt es sich um das äußere, sichtbare Verhalten von Systemen jedweder Art. Impliziert sind hier Bildungs-, Staats-, Wirtschaftssystem sowie globales ökologisches System. Weitere Faktoren wie Infrastruktur spielen ebenso eine Rolle. Wie verhält sich ein System nach außen hin und wie sehen die Kommunikationsprozesse aus? 

Bei diesen vier Quadranten handelt es sich um vier verschiedenen Perspektiven, durch die man die Menschen, die Gesellschaft und die Welt umfangreich und ganzheitlich betrachten kann. Diese multiperspektivische Betrachtungsweise im globalen Kontext wird „globale integrale Kompetenz“ genannt. Dieser Begriff bezeichnet die Eigenschaft eines handlungsfähigen, die eigene Persönlichkeit und das globale Umfeld gestaltenden Subjekts. Globale integrale Kompetenz ergibt sich daraus, diese vier Perspektiven in ein Gleichgewicht zu bringen und das Selbst und die Anderen in einer kausalen Beziehung in einem großen System zu erkennen. 

<ES>: sich unserer neuronalen Wahrnehmung der Welt und Bedeutungsgebung bewusst werden, mit dem Ziel, sich ihre Grenzen zu erweitern und neue Bedeutung und Handlungsmöglichkeiten zu entwickeln.

<ICH>: eigenes komplexes System der pluralen Identität erkennen, eine kohärente Identität entwickeln und Wahlmöglichkeiten und Handlungsspielräume erweitern.

<WIR>: individuelle Potenziale, eine neue Kultur aufbauen und erkennen, dadurch Vorurteile/Annahmen in der Schwebe halten und Kompetenz zur dialogischen Kommunikation - (zuhören) entwickeln. 

<SIE>: erkennen, dass wir uns durch implizites System zusammenhalten und durch explizites System differenzieren. 

Zum Beispiel muss ein Mentor der deutschen Streitkräfte in Afghanistan durch die ES- und ICH-perspektivische Betrachtung seine afghanischen Trainees vorurteilslos wahrnehmen. Durch WIR-Perspektive muss er in der Lage sein, eine vertrauensvolle Beziehung zu seinem Trainee aufzubauen, in der eine neue, angemessene Führungskultur entsteht. Über die differenzierten institutionellen Funktionen wie Trainer–Trainee hinaus muss er erkennen, dass er und seine Trainees integrale Bestandteile eines globalen Systems sind. 

Globale integrale Kompetenz ist ein weit gefasster Begriff, umfasst ein Bündel von Selbst-, Sozial- und Systemkompetenzen und ist wichtig für die moderne Personalentwicklung der Streitkräfte. Die theoretische Entwicklung dieses Konzeptes kann mit der zeitgemäßen Evolution der Inneren Führung angeschlossen werden, da sie sich im Kontext der Globalisierung und der Einbindung in internationale Strukturen anpassen muss.

Literatur: 
Bateson, Gregory (1972): Step to an ecology of mind. Chicago.
Dörfler-Dierken, Angelika und Robert Kramer (2014): Innere Führung in Zahlen: Streitkräftebefragung 2013. Berlin.
Huntington, Samuel (1996): The Clash of Civilizations and the Remaking of World Order, New York. 
Wilber, Ken (2007): Integrale Vision. München.

Autoren

Foto_Matoba.JPG

Prof. Dr. Kazuma Matoba studierte und promovierte in der Kommunikationswissenschaft in Tokyo und Duisburg. Nach der Habilitation an der Universität Witten/Herdecke war er Dozent an verschiedenen deutschen und internationalen Universitäten. Neben seiner wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit ist er als Trainer für interkulturelle Kommunikation und Friedenskonsolidierung weltweit unterwegs. Seit 2014 lehrt und forscht er an der Fakultät der Humanwissenschaften der Universität der Bundeswehr München.

kazuma.matobaunibwde

Foto_Kuestner.jpg

Major Dipl.-Päd. Bernd Küstner trat im Jahr 2000 als Offiziersanwärter der dama-
ligen
Panzeraufklärungstruppe in die Bundeswehr ein. Nach seiner Ausbildung zum Offizier und dem Studium der Pädagogik an der Universität der Bundeswehr in München folgten Verwendungen als Zugführer und Kompanieeinsatzoffizier und Stabsverwendungen. Derzeit ist Major Küstner als Teamführer im Bereich militärische Ausbildungsunterstützung eingesetzt. Seine drei Auslandseinsätze in den Jahren 2011, 2013 und 2015 führten ihn bisher nach Afghanistan.

kuestner.berndgooglemailcom